wellness

Winter is here! Fernie-ites and visitors alike are eager to get outside and shred. On top of hitting the slopes, did you know that Fernie also has five unique xc skiing areas with over 50 km of trails to explore? It’s a great activity for the whole family especially as it is so accessible for new moms and soon-to-be moms. 

Making commitments and then planning actions in the direction and service of those objectives is living with intention. I don’t want life – and especially parenting – to be haphazard. It doesn’t serve the beings we love the most in the world to fly by the seat of our pants as we guide them to adulthood.

The theme for November’s issue of the Fernie Fix is “Intention” and though Taina originally planned on writing an article on the lofty and timely topic of menopause, she decided that this is a great time of year to consider creating a life of intention and purpose. Menopause will always be there, lurking around the corner.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday and every Saturday until Sat Mar 14 2020.
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Saturday, December 7, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Saturday, December 21, 2019
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Saturday, December 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Saturday, January 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Saturday, February 1, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Saturday, March 7, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Saturday, March 14, 2020
Time: 
5:30pm - 6:30pm

Enjoy yoga and stretching happening twice a week at Lizard Creek Lodge all winter long.

Wednesdays
5:30 - 6:30pm
Vinyasa

Saturdays
7:30 - 8:30am
Ski/Snowboard Stretch & Warm Up

Cost
$10 per session (tax included)
Please pre-book your spot by calling 250-423-2406 (open daily from 8am - 5pm).  Drop ins may be available based on availability.
A limited number of rental mats are available for $2 (tax included).

It can be challenging to not suffer from ski town stress. How can I find balance? Will I have enough time? How can I hit the slopes today as well as the xc ski track while juggling drinks with friends, loading a posse of kids in the car and making sure everyone has BOTH skis, mitts, etc.

When it comes to setting goals or intentions that surround health and wellness, it’s incredibly important to keep them realistic and sustainable. Setting yourself up for success by doing small things each day that bring you closer to the end result, all while enjoying the process it takes to get there.

“Intention is the starting point of every dream,” says Fernie mother of two, Sanne de Groot. “It is the creative power that fulfils all of our wants and our needs, whether for money, relationships, building a dream home, spiritual growth, or love.”

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sat Feb 08 2020.
Friday, February 7, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Time: 

Adding the use of therapy balls into your practice and your classes as a yoga teacher is a great way to empower yourself and your students to adopt self-care methods. Therapy balls can be used at home or as as an enhancement to any class offering.

This training will show you how to:

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jan 26 2020.
Friday, January 24, 2020
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Time: 

Welcoming in the first few days of summer with this incredible workshop of deep self-reflection and community. Bring in this new season with a weekend of exploration and connection. This weekend will provide an opportunity to slow down and reflect on where you are in your life and what's next. Yoga helps cleanse the mind and soul while tempering the fluctuations of our moods. In turn, the practice of yoga and meditation provide an excellent backdrop for journaling and discovering more about yourself.

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Time: 
8:00am - 4:00pm

Take your students in the silks to their ultimate relaxation place. This 8-hour session will teach you how to use the silks for deeper, longer holds and an ultimate energy recharge. You will get detailed instruction about how to position the silks, how the silks can be integrated into a restorative practice and more.

$105 includes manual, full day and practicum with feedback. Sign up online today.