Outdoors

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Jul 23 2020.
Friday, July 10, 2020
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020
Sunday, July 19, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Time: 

Looking for a mountain bike challenge this summer? Look no further...the Fernie Enduro is going V-I-R-T-U-A-L for 2020. Get yourself to the top of the trail and race to the bottom!

The event will include three Strava timed races over a six-week period on enduro style Fernie trails. Each race will be live for two weeks and yes, you can better your own time!

Race #1 starts on July 10th and will be open for two weeks. The Strava route will be released the day prior to each two-week race.

The Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) has been focusing on a number of key initiatives including Trail Work Procedures, COVID Procedures and communications.

Summer in Fernie and mountain biking go hand in hand. As the snow melts, bikes of all shapes and sizes appear in droves on the streets and trails. The mountain biking here is plentiful and diverse, from family friendly flowy trails to technical cross country, downhill, and big-air flow trails.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 26, 2020
Time: 
8:00am

Island Lake Lodge is officially open for the summer season!

Dining - Summer will start with both the Bear Lodge Bistro and Tamarack Dining Room opening for our fantastic food and beverage service.  Operations will differ from the past, but we are excited to be able to offer the Island Lake experience to our guests. Hours of operation will be: The Bear Bistro:  11am- 8pm

The Tamarack Dining Room: 5pm - 9pm

Reservations are recommended for the Tamarack Dining Room. Check our website for menus.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Jul 30 2020.
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Time: 
1:00pm

Art History with Jackie has moved to Thursdays! Videos will launch on Thursday afternoons, and you are invited to come to the Arts Station for Art on Deck to practice in the style of each week's featured artist!

July 2nd - Keith Haring
July 9th - Lawren Harris
July 16th - Edward Hopper
July 23rd - Salvador Dali
July 30th - Claude Monet

They will discuss the artist of the week and their painting style, and then you are free to try your hand at their style.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Sep 03 2020.
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Time: 
6:30pm

They are back for another year of Thursday Night Races at Fernie Alpine Resort!

Come out every Thursday for an evening of fun, gravity-fed mountain biking, great post-race draw prizes from SCOTT and Fox, and post-race refreshments at Legends Mountain Eatery!

They have made some essential changes to this year’s events to ensure they are providing a safe environment for everyone involved. Please read the following details carefully and check out the event webpage for more information on their COVID-19 safety plan.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Time: 

Please join in for the Mental Health Awareness Sunrise to Sunset bike ride this Saturday, June 20th!

Strahan Loken will be riding our beautiful Fernie trails from 5am till 10pm. As it will be very hard to determine how long every trail will take - you can join in on one of the following 4 stages below.

FIRST they roll over, camera-ready, each small change a delight of awe to a new parent. A thousand photos later and you’ve lost friends on Facebook but to you it is still magic. Then they start to scooch or crawl, eventually stand, then walk and in Fernie, they begin to climb, ski and bike. A natural progression. A marvel to witness. Infants and toddlers shift and change without resistance and without fear.

As we shift into a new season the Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) is also moving into a new direction with hiring of a Trail Manager. This individual will be responsible for managing and coordinating volunteers, coordinating the inspection and maintenance of existing trails, managing budgets and providing weekly trail reports. This role is key to our trail network, as it will help us manage our volunteers more effectively, improve our reporting to funders and landowners and to the community at large.