hiking

Event Date: 
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 2:00pm

More than just a pretty face: Mountain Wildflowers

Take a stroll through our colourful sub-alpine meadows and discover why flowers are not only beautiful but also an interesting and important part of the natural landscape & ecosystem.

Explore and find out more about the mountain, the secrets it has to offer and enjoy the beautiful scenery on one of these special hikes! Our specialty hikes are fully guided by our experienced, professional staff.

Event Date: 
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 2:00pm

A 380 million-year-old history lesson: Fossils & Geology

Why are the rocks in the Lizard range upside down? And how does Polar Peak tell the story of a mass extinction event 360 million years ago? Find out the answers to these questions and more as we traverse ancient sea beds, uncovering the remnants of the sea creatures that lived in ancient times.

Explore and find out more about the mountain, the secrets it has to offer and enjoy the beautiful scenery on one of these special hikes! Our specialty hikes are fully guided by our experienced, professional staff.

Com·mu·ni·ty - A feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals.

Island Lake Lodge opens for the summer season on June 7th!

Treat yourself this summer and explore natural wonders at Island Lake Lodge. From hiking to relaxing in the serene environment of their mountain spa or indulging in acclaimed food and wine – their summer activities showcase the best that Island Lake Lodge and the mountains surrounding Fernie, BC have to offer.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

Join Terry Nelson, author of the recently published book, Fernie Area Hiking Guide and Natural Plant Compendium on a hosted plant identification interpretive hike. Learn about many of the native plants along the Fairy Creek Falls Trail as it passes through a variety of ecological zones.

Price includes a signed copy of the author’s new book for your future explorations!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sun Jul 28 2019, Sun Aug 04 2019, Sun Aug 11 2019, Sun Aug 18 2019, Sun Aug 25 2019, Sun Sep 08 2019.
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019

The 7,000 acres of pristine wilderness at Island Lake provides countless hiking opportunities. Whether you are interested in a 30-minute walk or a Full Day hike, Island Lake has hiking trails for all ability levels. We have a full-time trail crew who keeps the trail system well maintained. Want to learn about flora & fauna?

Have you been riding Swine Flu? Have you been troubled by mud just past the cattleguard and to the right? 

Event Date: 
Friday, June 7, 2019
Time: 

Enjoy lunch on the Bear Patio alongside creative cocktails or enjoy gourmet dining in the evening restaurant while the sun sets over the Three Bears. 

Fernie really does have it all when it comes to summer adventures with your kids. Here are three (or four) of my personal favourites that are a little off the beaten track.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 5:00pm

Fernie Alpine Resort opens for Summer operations on June 22nd to September 2nd!

Open daily: 10am – 5pm (7pm on Thursdays)

Early Bird Summer Season Passes are on sale NOW! Get yours here!