Fernie Trails Alliance

The Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) has been focusing on a number of key initiatives including Trail Work Procedures, COVID Procedures and communications.

Photo by Steve Reed

Last year, local rider Carter Nieuwesteeg had an idea of an event that would both lure bikers to explore the expansive and beautiful lanscapes in surounding the community of Fernie while also raising money for the the town's local trails alliance - the Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA).

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Oct 08 2020.
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Time: 
6pm

The Fernie Trails Alliance work parties are beginning June 18, 2020! To participate, visit their website to review the COVID-19 protocols and fill out the required forms.

Help this charitable organization maintain Fernie's world-class trail network, which is continually expanding and being enhanced!

Local mountain bike coach Kat Robinson reminds us of the small things we can do before heading out for a ride to ensure our bike is in working order and ready for the trails ahead! This time of the year, as we all get into gear and more trails open up every day, these quick and easy checks can aid us in having a safe and mechanical-free ride.

A - air in your tires.

B - brakes

C - chain and gears

As we shift into a new season the Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) is also moving into a new direction with hiring of a Trail Manager. This individual will be responsible for managing and coordinating volunteers, coordinating the inspection and maintenance of existing trails, managing budgets and providing weekly trail reports. This role is key to our trail network, as it will help us manage our volunteers more effectively, improve our reporting to funders and landowners and to the community at large.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Join the Fernie Trails Alliance for their AGM to find out more about the organization, successes for 2019 and plans for 2020.

Event Date: 
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Time: 
4pm

Join your fellow 2020 #ferniestreak - ers this Sunday to celebrate getting outdoors for as many days as possible in January! What a great way to kick off the year - congratulations to everyone who kept going, regardless of weather, missing a day here or there...

Find out the Fernie Trails Alliance’s (FTA) intentions are for 2020 and The Sparwood Trails Alliance (STA) have been working diligently with great success this year in bringing new trails to its expanding network.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Time: 
7pm

This Tuesday evening, join the Fernie Trails Alliance board and its member clubs to celebrate a fantastic season of riding, trail maintenance and development, partnerships and more. Elect the new members of the board. Help with their upcoming Strategic Planning sessions by taking part in a SWOT analysis. And enjoy light snacks, coffee, tea and a cash bar.

It takes a lot of spirit to maintain our trail network. With over 300 kilometres of trails, we could not maintain and build our trails without the dedication of our volunteers.