Fernie Museum

Event Date: 
Friday, February 12, 2021
Time: 

From Spalding to Abdou: A history of books from and about Fernie, their authors and inspiration.

The stories that have been written in and about Fernie record our history, our lifestyle and our hopes and dreams. The collection of published works includes a wide range of genres from children's books to researched historical texts, novels, memoirs, poetry, anthologies and guides.

Along with supporting materials from the Museum and community, Stories from Fernie celebrates Fernie's literary heritage.

Event Date: 
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Time: 
4:00pm - 5:00pm

An afterschool activity for budding sleuths, aged 9-12.

Grab an activity pack, with games and a mystery to solve, curbside at the library. Then join the Zoom session to play games and help solve the mystery. This is a weekly program, with a new mystery each month, children should only be registered for one session per month.

Register online.
 

Event Date: 
Friday, December 18, 2020
Time: 
6:00pm

The Fernie Museum is expecting some very special visitors from the North Pole and we need your help to welcome them!

Sadly we can't meet Santa and Mrs Claus indoors this year, but we would love to give them your letters! The Clauses will read out your messages and answer your questions, so make sure you include your first name and your age so they can say hello to you.

Fernie Arts Co-op
572 2nd Ave
250-423-7044

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Tue Jan 12 2021 except Fri Dec 25 2020.
Sunday, December 6, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Friday, December 11, 2020
Saturday, December 12, 2020
Sunday, December 13, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Friday, December 18, 2020
Saturday, December 19, 2020
Sunday, December 20, 2020
Monday, December 21, 2020
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Wednesday, December 23, 2020
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Sunday, December 27, 2020
Monday, December 28, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Friday, January 1, 2021
Saturday, January 2, 2021
Sunday, January 3, 2021
Monday, January 4, 2021
Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Thursday, January 7, 2021
Friday, January 8, 2021
Saturday, January 9, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Time: 
11:00am - 4:00pm

Fabrics of History
Untangling The Ancient Arts of Spinning, Weaving, Knitting & Felting by Fernie Spinners & Weavers Guild
Curated by Laura Nelson

December 6 2020 - January 12 2021
Hosted in the Fernie Museum Gallery

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri May 22 2020.
Friday, April 17, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Time: 
3:00pm

Join Museum Collections Manager, Lindsay Vallance, for a video series investigating the stories behind our artifact collection. Explore unique objects and how they relate to social, military, fashion and commercial history - both locally and globally.

Visit the Museum blog page for each week's video link: https://ferniemuseum.com/blog/museum/

Event Date: 
Monday, February 10, 2020
Time: 
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Join researcher Lindsay Vallance from the Fernie Museum for a delicious 2-course lunch at the Fernie Seniors Centre and a look at Death, Disease & Contagion in Fernie in the 20th Century. Fernie’s medical history includes qurantine, VD outbreaks and all manner of things to make you wash your hands a little more thoroughly.

Program Fee: $13 for Museum and Senior Centre members, $15 for the general public. Register online.

Event Date: 
Monday, February 17, 2020
Time: 
1:30pm - 3:30pm

You are invited to the Fernie Heritage Strategy Public Open House, helping kick off Heritage Week in Fernie. 

Presentation by the project consultant will begin at 2pm. Light refreshments will be served.

Event Date: 
Sunday, December 15, 2019

In this talk, feature artist Katherine Russell will share the inspiration behind her glass work, the processes she uses in both the hot and cold shops and how her work continues to evolve over time. Following her talk, Katherine will be available in the gallery to answer questions.

Angel Flight East Kootenay helps residents attend medical appointments, The Loaf celebrates 10 years, Coal Town Goods has moved, the Elk Valley Furniture Studio have new owners and The Good Earth finds a new home.