Culture

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Tue Jan 12 2021 except Fri Dec 25 2020.
Sunday, December 6, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Friday, December 11, 2020
Saturday, December 12, 2020
Sunday, December 13, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Friday, December 18, 2020
Saturday, December 19, 2020
Sunday, December 20, 2020
Monday, December 21, 2020
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Wednesday, December 23, 2020
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Sunday, December 27, 2020
Monday, December 28, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Friday, January 1, 2021
Saturday, January 2, 2021
Sunday, January 3, 2021
Monday, January 4, 2021
Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Thursday, January 7, 2021
Friday, January 8, 2021
Saturday, January 9, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Time: 
11:00am - 4:00pm

Fabrics of History
Untangling The Ancient Arts of Spinning, Weaving, Knitting & Felting by Fernie Spinners & Weavers Guild
Curated by Laura Nelson

December 6 2020 - January 12 2021
Hosted in the Fernie Museum Gallery

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Dec 13 2020.
Sunday, November 29, 2020
Sunday, December 6, 2020
Sunday, December 13, 2020

Write a letter to Santa and colour in a card to a Senior in Fernie! Download and print the files here!

Once you are finished swing by The Arts Station to drop off your cards and they will mail Santa your letters and deliver your card to a Senior!

Don't forget to write your name and postal address on them!

Letter To Santa

Card To Seniors

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Dec 03 2020.
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, November 26, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Time: 
3:00pm

Every Thursday, our Program Officer Jackie will be releasing a short Art History Lesson on The Arts Station Youtube Channel.

These videos are a short introduction to prolific artists, featuring someone new every week.

You will cover their biography, their artistic style, look at some of their works and then leave you with a challenge to get creative at the end of every video! Videos launch every Thursday Youtube link here.

Looking at art online has been an immense inspiration for me and when travelling abroad, David and I are drawn to modern art galleries. I am inspired by cleaner, more simple images set in modern frames, and this is reflected in my work. I am constantly surprised that my creations which begin with an idea from a previous image end up as an entirely different work of art.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon in this step-by-step painting course where she leads participants through an original painting! Get back to basics in this fall-themed evening.

*Please note, masks are required in The Arts Station*

Register online!

 

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Time: 
7:30pm

Join in for Life Drawing, a drawing session with a live model.

7:30-9pm

$10 or $5 with an FDAC Membership (Station Supporter) Please note, discount will appear upon checkout if you are a Station Supporter. Masks are required in the Arts Station unless in position behind a plexiglass barrier. 

Register online!

 

Event Date: 
Friday, October 23, 2020
Time: 
10:00am - 3:30pm

* Masks are now required in the building *

Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes. REGISTER NOW!

Event Date: 
Friday, November 27, 2020
Time: 
10:00am - 8:00pm

This exhibit will showcase a selection of artists of varying experience levels. The pieces will be executed in a range of mediums and styles, but will all be based on the theme "round". Check out the innovative ways artists have interpreted this theme for an original piece all available to purchase. 

This will be an excellent opportunity for art lovers to add to, or even start, their collection of original artwork.

Alongside this exhibit with also be a small selection of Artisanal Goods from local makers.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Tue Oct 13 2020. Also includes Thu Oct 22 2020.
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Time: 
9:00am - 11:00am

Come out a try out wheel throwing. No prior knowledge required. Instructor Tathlina Lovlin will go through the process of throwing a cylinder on the wheel. Clay will be provided. (Assuming we have recycled available.) If the participant does make an item, there's a $5 fee to have said item continued through the process including being glazed.

The class will have 1.5 hrs of instruction and have 30 minutes allotted for clean up. Those with prior experience are welcome, but please be aware the class will be geared towards first timers.

Event Date: 
Sunday, November 15, 2020
Time: 
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Join Teena in this wood burning class where you will be able to make a fall or holiday themed sign. This class is appropiate for beginners and intermidates.

All supplies will be included. When buying your ticket please indicate whether you will be making a fall theme or holiday theme sign. Social distancing and studio covid guidelines will be in place for this class. $30 per ticket.

REGISTER online.